My First Blog Post

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my first blog post! I was meaning to start this post before school got too busy, but school beat me to it.

So here’s just a little introduction.

I’m Amanda and I’m in my final year of environmental engineering. Right now at school I’m taking a few energy courses, since that’s what I hope to specialize in. For my group fourth year design project, we’re exploring renewable energy sources, which is exciting because I finally get to learn more about. And I finally get to control what I want to learn about, which is great, especially when you can’t find a course about topics you’re interested in. I’ve always been curious about it and  it seems like now is the right time to explore our options.

I am also on a quest for a full-time job, as it says in my profile. I thought it might be fun to recount my job hunt to others. So far there hasn’t been too much action, but there are a few jobs I’ve seen that I’m really interested in.  We’ll have to wait and see what happens with that. It feels too early to be looking for a full-time job since I still have seven more months to go, but all my friends who have already graduated have told me that now is the time to look, so that’s what I’m doing! I will keep you updated though!

Outside of school, I have an affinity for movies and TV. I can’t get enough of it! I pretend to be a twitter movie critic and as you’ll see later, I am going to try my hand at a review longer than 140 characters. More than movies, though, I am in love with TV. Maybe it’s because of the longer story arc, but regardless, I try to keep up with as many as I can. Thank god for streaming, otherwise I would be missing out on all that good stuff.

At the moment, my favourite shows in alphabetical order are:

  • Bones
  • Castle
  • Happy Endings
  • Modern Family
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Rookie Blue

I have a whole list of more shows that I can’t get enough of, but I don’t want to overshare just yet. Side note: is overshare really not a word? That is what Microsoft Word is telling me and it’s slightly upsetting. I guess I’ve been using it so often in my vocabulary, it seems like a real word.

So before I started writing this, I read a bunch of articles on how to write my first blog post because I wasn’t too sure how to begin. A lot of people said that I should mention what I plan on writing about in this blog, and honestly I think it’ll be pretty much anything that happens to inspire me to write. So look forward to more of my random thoughts! And thanks for reading 🙂

About amandakumar

Engineer. Adventurer. TV enthusiast. World Traveler. Knower of random facts. Addicted to using exclamation marks (see tweets)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Blog Post

  1. Stacey says:

    you’re awesome because you can combine renewable energy and tv shows. among other reasons! go amanda!

Leave a Reply

