Flashback to Music of the 90s

There isn’t a decade that I love more than the 90s. To be fair though, I am a child of the 90s. I lived and breathed the TV, music, movies and fads that went along with it.

Recently I found this twitter (http://twitter.com/#!/90sgirlproblem) and Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/90sgirlproblem) called 90s Girl Problems that has provided an endless source of entertainment and nostalgia. They post commercials of toys and games back then, along with clips of movies and TV shows. My favourite part of it all though are the tweets. One of my favourites so far has beenMy favourite part of it all though are the tweets. One of my favourites so far has been “I like Backstreet Boys. My best friend likes N*SYNC. Scratch that. We’re no longer friends.” I was/am a Backstreet Boys fan, more so than N*SYNC, so I thought it was a pretty funny.

Backstreet Boys in the early days.

A few days ago they posted a quiz on 90s music and I just had to do it to see where I was with 90s music and of course I got “Congrats, you’re a 90s nerd!” I couldn’t have asked for a better honour. If you want to try out the quiz, the link is below.

Quiz: Put your ’90s music knowledge to the test – USATODAY.com.

Listening to the song clips got me thinking about some of the songs that remind me of the 90s, so I wanted to share some songs that epitomized the 90s for me.

No Doubt – Don’t Speak


This is my ultimate favourite song ever and of course it’s from the 90s. I remember first watching this video when it was on YTV’s the Hit List with Tarzan Dan.

Alanis Morissette – Ironic


Who doesn’t remember this song always on the radio? And everyone saying how nothing she sings about is ironic. When it came out, I think I was too young to actually know what irony was, but regardless it’s great 90s song.

Montell Jordan – This Is How We Do It


Don’t pretend like you don’t know all the words to this song.

Hanson – MMMBop


Probably one of the most ridiculous songs of the 90s (lyrics wise), but incredibly catchy. Who knew that a bunch of brothers that looked like girls would be so big?

Third Eye Blind – Semi Charmed Life


Just an overall great sing-out-loud song. In fact I totally remember singing this out loud with my sister and cousins when we were younger whenever it was on the radio. And keeping your finger on record the whole time you were listening to the radio so you could get a copy on your mixed tape. Oh those were the days!

Those are a few of the memorable songs for me. What songs remind you of the 90s?

And I am loving this 90s throwback, so I think I’ll be doing a few more 90s posts in the future.

Enjoy!

About amandakumar

Engineer. Adventurer. TV enthusiast. World Traveler. Knower of random facts. Addicted to using exclamation marks (see tweets)!
This entry was posted in 90s, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flashback to Music of the 90s

  1. I got 90s nerd w00t! as soon as I saw the Semi-Charmed Life question I was like ooooh must listen to that! haha so thanks for providing it 🙂

    90s to me handsdown is The Moffatts – Chapter One: A New Beginning because I was head over heels obsessed with them and basically all the obvious ones in the latter half of the decade when pop ruled but also for some reason Metallica – Enter Sandman, Nothing Else Matters, and Our Lady Peace – Superman’s Dead and Clumsy, Pearl Jam – Jeremy, Wonderwall – Osasis, Bon Jovi – Always, Aerosmith – Crazy, Ace of Base – I Saw the Sign, All4One – I Swear, K-Ci & Jojo – All My Life there are so many and so diverse too, the 90s were amazing for music! They all make me nostalgic but they also comfort me too in a strange way even Enter Sandman when I hear it I feel like it’s an old friend.

  2. Ashley Kumar says:

    Agreed! Where was Oasis and Ace of Base on the list? And Kc and jojo!! How could you not have put them on the list. I think you should do a top 10….or 15 if you’re having a hard time choosing.

Leave a Reply

