Christmas Albums to Start Off the Holidays

A lot of people I know have been saying that it is still too early for Christmas. I do not believe that at all. I am ready for Christmas in July usually, so it’s never too early for me to get excited.

When  a friend told me how they heard that Michael Bublé’s new CD, Christmas, was one of the best Christmas albums they’ve heard, I jumped at the chance to listen to it. First to get into the Christmas spirit and secondly because Christmas music happens to be one of my favourite genres of music.

Michael Bublé's new album, Christmas

Michael Bublé’s voice is perfect for the songs that he chose on this album. It’s just a very pleasant voice to listen to. One of the songs that really stood out to me was his amazing cover of ‘All I Want for Christmas is You’; mainly because he didn’t try to emulate the original by Mariah Carey and he made it his own.

He also got another Canadian, Shania Twain, to sing with him for his cover of White Christmas. For some odd reason, it reminded me of Home Alone. I think the beginning of the song is similar to one of the songs in that movie. (Update: It IS in Home Alone; the quintessential scene of the movie when Kevin puts after shave on his face and starts screaming.) This song is actually one of my favourite Christmas songs, but I think I much prefer the version on his ‘Let it Snow’ album.

This CD has a first for me; the first time I’ve ever heard a guy sing Santa Baby. In the first line, he sings Santa Baby, but throughout the rest of the song it’s  either Santa Buddy or Santa Pally. It is actually quite entertaining to hear how the song is changed to fit a guy: Rolexes, hotties (yes, you read that correctly) and Canucks tickets. If you check out any song from this album, you must listen to this one.


I also ended up checking out the Biebs’ new Christmas album.

This other Canadian singer doesn’t exactly have an album as good as Bublé’s, but he’s got some great artists singing on the album with him: Boyz II Men, Mariah Carey and Usher. Also, the two singles he released for the album, Mistletoe and Santa Claus is Coming to Town, do not reflect the music on this CD. I think the rest of the songs are much better.

The Biebs' Under the Mistletoe Christmas album

The two that I especially like are ‘Fa La La’ with Boyz II Men and ‘Home This Christmas’ with The Band Perry. I don’t think there is really an explanation needed for Boyz II Men song. They’re classic. And clearly the song is that good for them to have two versions, the regular and and an acoustic version. As for ‘Home This Christmas’, I had never heard of The Band Perry until I heard this song. But regardless that they weren’t a big name (to me at least), I’m pretty sure I’ve listened to this song at least 20 times. It’s super sappy, but secretly something I love in Christmas songs.

In addition to these new albums, I think there are some oldies, but goodies I need to mention. It’s not Christmas without these songs and CDs.

Albums:

N’SYNC – Home for Christmas

N'SYNC's Home for Christmas

I remember when this CD came out, it was on every girl’s Christmas list, and I’m pretty sure I got it as a gift from my parents. Needless to say, it was played on repeat that Christmas, and that tradition has followed since.

Favourites: ‘Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays’, ‘Kiss Me at Midnight’, ‘Under My Tree’

Hanson – Snowed In

Hanson's Snowed In

You can clearly tell that I was/am a teeny bopper. Last year I finally found the actual CD after many years. It wasn’t forgotten though in that time it was missing. Some songs definitely made it onto my Christmas playlist. Plus, my sister really wanted me to put this album on the list.

Favourites: ‘Merry Christmas Baby’, ‘What Christmas Means to Me’, ‘Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree’

Tchaikovsky – The Nutcracker

The Nutcracker

No explanation needed here. This embodies Christmas.

Favourites: ‘Overture’, ‘Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy’,

Songs:

Mariah Carey – All I Want for Christmas is You

Mariah Carey's All I want for Christmas is You

Wham! – Last Christmas

Wham!'s Last Christmas

Both the songs above are Christmas classics to me. It’s not Christmas without hearing either of them.

Any Artist – The Christmas Song

I have yet to find a terrible cover of this song. Hopefully I will not find one.

98 Degrees – This Gift

98 Degrees' Christmas Album 'This Christmas'

Super cheese-y, but that’s why I love it.

Tori Amos – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Bones' The Man in the Fallout Shelter

This song was in the Christmas episode of season one of Bones. I love that episode and when they played the song, it was absolutely perfect. So to me, this is an amazing Christmas song.

OK, well I hope that this gets you into the Christmas spirit! Any specific albums or songs that you love and I missed? Let me know!

About amandakumar

Engineer. Adventurer. TV enthusiast. World Traveler. Knower of random facts. Addicted to using exclamation marks (see tweets)!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Music, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Albums to Start Off the Holidays

  1. Ashley Kumar says:

    It’s obvious Bieber isn’t as good as Buble. But he does have some awesome collaborators. How he got Boyz II Men, I’ll never know.
    And Hanson’s Snowed In is one of the best Christmas albums ever! But why didn’t you put Boney M’s album on the list? 😦

  2. misstruong says:

    It really is far too early…but this list made me excited for Dec. 1st when it will be acceptable to bust out my Christmas playlist…which is actually pretty similar to yours minus the Bieb’s new CD 🙂

  3. I don’t think it’s ever too early for Christmas songs, I listen to them in July lol 😀 I totally forgot about 98 degrees – This Gift! thanks for the reminder! super awesome list! “Last Christmas” is my fav pop christmas song I’m not sure why! I really like Jesse Labelle’s version. Also I can’t forget, Britney’s “Santa Can You Hear Me” – you should check out a “A very She & Him Christmas” I just read this review of it this morning: http://bostonglobe.com/arts/2011/11/25/our-pick-for-holiday-music-she-him/EdwevNbYCCYojj6sWm2nnJ/story.html really want to give it a listen, very intrigued by the role reversal in “Baby It’s Cold Outside”

  4. Christine Lu says:

    Amazing list girl!!!! If you created a shareable playlist somehow, I would have it on repeat 🙂 I LOVE LOVE LOVE everything to do with the holiday season – and I feel like I might as well soak up as much xmas music now because it’ll be gone before we know it!

    Am I going to see you this holiday season??? Pretty please? I think we need a date 🙂

Leave a Reply

